Florida Statute Chapter 316.614
“Florida Safety Belt Law’’
It is unlawful for any person:
* To operate a motor vehicle in this state unless each passenger and the operator of the vehicle under the age of 18 years are restrained by a safety belt or by a child restraint device pursuant to s.316.613
, if applicable; or
* To operate a motor vehicle in this state unless the person is restrained by a safety belt.
* It is unlawful for any person 18 years of age or older to be a passenger in the front seat of a motor vehicle unless such person is restrained by a safety belt when the vehicle is in motion
For more information on traffic safety, teen driver tips or safety belt usage, contact our Community Outreach Division at (813) 247-8115.
It’s BELTS OR ELSE