News Releases are to be used for informational purposes only.
Information provided should not be relied upon for any type of legal action.
Law Banning Texting And Driving Begins October 1:
The Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office wants to remind all drivers that beginning on October 1, 2013, texting while driving is against the law in Florida.
Per FSS 316.305(3)(a): A person may not operate a motor vehicle while manually typing or entering multiple letters, numbers, symbols, or other characters into a wireless communications device or while sending or reading data on such a device for the purpose of non-voice interpersonal communication, including, but not limited to, communication methods known as texting, e-mailing, and instant messaging.
Enforcement of this law by state or local law enforcement agencies must be accomplished only as a secondary action when an operator has been detained for a suspected primary violation. Any person who violates this law will receive a non-moving violation totaling $103.00. If a person commits a second or subsequent violation within 5 years, they could be charged with a moving violation.
Breakdown of a Non-Moving Violation:
- $30.00 318.18(2) Base Fine
- $18.00 318.18(11)a Court Costs
- $2.50 318.18(11)c Criminal Justice Education
- $3.00 318.18(11)d-983.01 Local Court Cost Clearing - State
- $2.00 318.18(11)d-938.15 Local Law Enforcement Education
- $20.00 318.18(13)(a)-CO 04-26 COURT FACILITIES FUND (BOCC)
Optional with Co. Ordinance
- $12.50 318.18(18) ADMIN FEE/CLERK OF COURT T.F./DOR/GEN FUND
- $5.00 318.12(15)-CO 04-43 Dori Slosberg ED Act
- $10.00 318.18(19)(a),(b),(c) Article V/States Courts Revenue Trust Fund
This law does not apply to a motor vehicle operator who is:
- Performing official duties as an operator of an authorized emergency vehicle defined in Florida State Statute 322.01, a law enforcement or fire service professional, or an emergency medical services professional.
- Reporting an emergency or criminal/suspicious activity to law enforcement authorities.
The law also does not apply to a motor vehicle that is stationary, and is not being operated.
Sheriff David Gee would like to remind all Hillsborough County drivers, "Don't text and drive and always wear your seat belt!"