News Releases are to be used for informational purposes only.
Information provided should not be relied upon for any type of legal action.
A public awareness/enforcement campaign aimed at educating motorists about when they do and don't have to stop for a school bus.
"Got Brakes" is the name of our public awareness/enforcement campaign aimed at educating motorists about when they do and don't have to stop for a school bus.
Divided highway: Do I stop? Continuous turn lane: Do I not stop? Grass median: Do I stop or not? This public awareness video will help you understand Florida law. The goal is to keep our children safe through education and enforcement of the motoring pubic.
When Hillsborough County public schools return on Aug.19, our deputies will be out in force, in patrol cruisers, motorcycles and unmarked vehicles keeping watch for motorists who don't know and don't heed state law regarding stopping for a school bus. Got Brakes? Good, use them when a school bus is close.
According to a Florida Department of Education survey conducted in April 2012, more than 21,000 drivers illegally passed school buses on a one day survey. That represents over 3.7 million possible violations by motorists in Florida during the 180-day school year. Each illegal pass-by could result in a tragic injury or fatality of a student. The inconvenience of an extra few seconds spent waiting for a stopped school bus is insignificant compared to the loss of a child's life, which is why Florida's departments of Education, Transportation, and Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, have teamed up to develop the Stop on Red, Kids Ahead campaign to remind drivers of the laws and safe practices to take when approaching a school bus. For more information on Florida's school bus laws, visit:http://floridaschoolbussafety.gov
HCSO will provide opportunities for media coverage of our enforcement efforts on opening day of school. However, our goal is to increase the safety awareness before school opens therefore decreasing the need for enforcement and more importantly avoid a tragic injury or fatality of a student.
The following is a summary of Florida's school bus stop law requirements:
Florida Motor Vehicles Laws require that motorists stop upon approaching any school bus which displays its flashing red lights and has its stop signs extended.
Interested parties should refer to sections 316.172, 318.18, 318.19, and 322.0261, Florida Statutes (FS), for the specific language in the law. Florida Statutes can be found at http://www.leg.state.fl.us/
Section 316.172, FS provides that:
Drivers who pass a school bus illegally on the left side commit a moving violation, punishable under Chapter 318, FS.
Drivers who pass a school bus illegally on the right side where students enter or exit the bus commit a moving violation, punishable under Chapter 318, FS and are subject to a mandatory hearing.
Amount of penalties (Section 318.18, FS):
Left hand pass:
1st offense: $165
2nd or subsequent offense (within 5 years): $165 plus license suspension for 90 days to 6 months
Right hand pass:
1st offense: $265
2nd or subsequent offense (within 5 years): $265, license suspension for 180 days to one year, plus a mandatory hearing
Driver improvement course (Section 322.0261, FS):
The offender must, in addition to other applicable penalties, attend a DHSMV-approved driver improvement course. If the operator fails to complete the course
316.172 Traffic to stop for school bus:
(1) (a) Any person using, operating, or driving a vehicle on or over the roads or highways of this state shall, upon approaching any school bus which displays a stop signal, bring such vehicle to a full stop while the bus is stopped, and the vehicle shall not pass the school bus until the signal has been withdrawn. A person who violates this section commits a moving violation, punishable as provided in chapter 318.
(b) Any person using, operating, or driving a vehicle that passes a school bus on the side that children enter and exit when the school bus displays a stop signal commits a moving violation, punishable as provided in chapter 318, and is subject to a mandatory hearing under the provisions of s. 318.19.
(2) The driver of a vehicle upon a divided highway with an unpaved space of at least 5 feet, a raised median, or a physical barrier is not required to stop when traveling in the opposite direction of a school bus which is stopped in accordance with the provisions of this section.
(3) Every school bus shall stop as far to the right of the street as possible and shall display warning lights and stop signals as required by rules of the State Board of Education before discharging or loading passengers. When possible, a school bus shall not stop where the visibility is obscured for a distance of 200 feet either way from the bus.