The Records Section is the central depository and processing section for Incident and Florida Traffic Crash Reports generated by the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office.
The detailed crime data for unincorporated Hillsborough County is captured by the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program in the Records Section. This information is available to the public and provided to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement for inclusion in state and national crime statistical publications.
The Records Section is responsible for validating records entered into the Florida Crime Information Center and National Crime Information Center by the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office. The Records Section is open Monday through Friday, 7 am to 4 pm.
WHAT IS PUBLIC RECORD?
The Florida Statute 119.00 outlines the criteria of what is considered as public record; therefore, the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office is required to release information according to the public record law.
WHAT FEES MAY LAWFULLY BE IMPOSED FOR INSPECTING AND COPYING PUBLIC RECORDS?
In accordance with Section 119.07, F.S.:
Single-sided copy: $ .15 each page
Double-sided copy:$ .20 each page
Certified copy: $1.00 each document
Extensive Research: Deposit required according to nature of the request.
(A special service charge is assessed when the nature or volume of public records to be inspected requires extensive use of information technology resources, extensive clerical assistance, supervisory assistance or both.)
HOW TO OBTAIN INFORMATION:
HOURS OF OPERATION:
Monday – Friday
7:00 am – 4:00 pm
The Freddie Solomon Annex
1900 E. 9th Avenue Tampa, Florida 33605
The Freddie Solomon Annex is located in historic Ybor City at the intersection of 19th Street and East 9th Avenue, three blocks south of Interstate 4, Exit #1.
CRIMINAL ARREST RECORDS:
Requests should be directed to the Identification Section located at 2306 North Falkenburg Road, telephone # (813) 247-0062
RELEASE OF FLORIDA TRAFFIC CRASH REPORTS:
Per Florida Statute Section 316.066, effective June 5, 2001, accident reports are no longer public record under the provisions of Florida Statute Section 119.07 for a period of 60 days after the date the report is filed with the following exceptions:
1.The parties involved;
2.Their legal representatives;
3.Their licensed insurance agents;
5.Persons under contract with such insurer to provide claims or underwriting information;
7.Radio and television stations licensed by the FCC;
8.Newspapers qualified to publish legal notices and free newspapers of general circulation, published once a week or more often, available and of interest to the public generally for the dissemination of news. For the purpose of Florida Statute Section 316.066, the following products are NOT qualifying newspapers: those intended primarily for members of a particular profession or occupational group; those with the primary purpose of distributing advertising; those with the primary purpose of publishing names and other personally identifying information concerning parties to motor vehicle crashes;
9.State and Federal Agencies authorized to have access to such reports by any provision of the law.
Per Florida Statute Section 316.066, any person attempting to access accident reports within 60 days after the date the report is filed must present legitimate credentials or identification that demonstrates their qualifications to access the report. Any person, knowing that he or she is not entitled to obtain information made confidential by this section is guilty of a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Florida Statute Section 775.082, 775.083 or 775.084.
When making a request for an accident report which falls within the 60 days time period, one of the following types of credentials and/or identification must be provided in support of any claim for access to the requested report:
1. Drivers license or other governmental issued picture ID, identifying the requester as a party involved in the accident;
2. State or Federal Credentials and/or licenses;
3. As approved by a supervisor in the Records Section.
OBTAINING TRAFFIC CRASH REPORTS BY MAIL:
As stated above, motor vehicle crash information is confidential and exempt from disclosure for a period of 60 days after the date the crash report is filed per Florida Statute 316.066(3)(c). Obtaining confidential information by someone who knows they are not entitled to do so is a felony violation.
If the traffic crash has taken place within the past 60 days, the following document [SWORN STATEMENT FOR TRAFFIC CRASH REPORT INFORMATION
] should be downloaded, completed in its entirety and notarized. A separate form must be completed for each traffic crash report that is requested. Send the completed form(s), forty-five cents ($.45) for each report and a self-addressed, stamped envelope to:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Attention: Records Section/Freddie Solomon Annex
P.O. Box 3371
Tampa, FL 33601
Please note that this form must be notarized. Forms submitted that have not been notarized will not be processed.
RELEASE OF INCIDENT REPORTS:
Record copies of incident reports filled with the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office can be obtained from the Records Section and released according to Florida Statute 119.00, Public Records.
HCSO Arrest Inquiry
View Statute 119 (click on Statutes and Constitution)
Tampa Police Department