It’s all about safety. Here are some instances of suspected red light runners caught on camera.
Red light runners are a danger to others as well as themselves. Aggressive, impatient or inattentive motorists who run a red light can be detected at certain intersections in unincorporated Hillsborough County.
The Red Light Enforcement Program began to issue notices of violation in December 2009. The State of Florida adopted Red Light Camera enforcement laws for statewide consistency. These laws are outlined in Florida Statute 316.0083 - Mark Wandall Traffic Safety Program
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Deputies review each photograph and corresponding data to determine if there was a violation of Florida State Statute 316.075 (1)(c)(1). By statute, a red light camera violation is $158, and must be paid within 60 days of receiving the notice. You must follow the instructions on the back of the notice. The fine cannot be paid in person at any County facility. Failure to pay will result in the violation converting to a Uniform Traffic Citation (UTC), and will be enforced in the courts. If you challenge the violation and are found guilty, an administrative cost for Hillsborough County is an additional $75.00. The Hearing Officer may waive the cost, if he desires, based on testimony. If the violation is appealed, but paid prior to the hearing, a $50.00 administrative cost will be assessed per Florida Statute.
Remember, it’s all about safety.
Cameras are in operation at these intersections:
- Fletcher Ave. & Bruce B. Downs Blvd.
- Sligh Ave. & Habana Ave.
- Brandon Blvd. & Grand Regency Blvd.
- Bloomingdale Ave. & Bell Shoals Rd.
- Waters Ave. & Dale Mabry Hwy.
- Waters Ave. & Anderson Rd.